Tag Archives: Samadhi

YOGA, the origins

Yoga for body, heart and soul…

When the rishi of ancient times developed yoga, the postures had a meaning and an aim apart from curing problems related to the back or to existential anxiety.

“Be young, age wall or old, sick or weak, one reaches the realization by practice, by sustained, relentless attention of all aspects of Yoga»
Haṭhayōgapradīpikā, I, 64

The aim of yoga is not a striving for bodily suppleness, it concerns peace of mind, the modification of the mind.

“The realization comes to one who is constantly engaged in practice. How would she come to the inactive? This isn’t simply by reading the treaties on yoga that perfection can be born”
Haṭhayōgapradīpikā, I, 65

The way of the body (Kaya Sādhanā)

The word āsana means position, posture, attitude and foundation. For the Indian sculptor, the position or physical bearing serves as a sign language and an emotional language codified and known by all. Hence, the postures of yoga represent archetypical figures. The practice of these figures in the context of a method permits the practitioner to re-establish links with his profoundest roots.

Shiva, on paper

Shiva, on paper

Finding in oneself the emotions of the body, the heart and the soul, accepting taking a step towards the unknown in order to discover a different balance, a different vision

With his body, man writes his dreams. By transcending himself, he creates a different reality, a new power, a new suppleness, and new sensations. This realisation requires going beyond stiffness and discomfort for many years of effort.

As expressed so well by Satprem in the title of one of his books, “Son of Heaven through the body of the Earth”, it is through this earthly body, this body of flesh, this material body (sthūla-śarīra) that we will, by practicing yoga, awaken the body of light, the body of energy (prāṇāyāma-kośa),

Valmiki, Ramayana

Valmiki, Ramayana

How did the concept of yoga develop?

This concept dominates all the philosophical speculations of India, reincarnation, metempsychosis. Present life shows but one stage in a multitude of successive lives that have as their common goal being painful and of which one absolutely needs to disengage oneself.

Transmigration, pain, deliverance…

For Indian thought, the existence of the soul is a given. This primitive belief was already held in prehistory. Actually, in the most ancient scriptures known, the individual soul presents itself as the pillar of all vital functions of man. The soul, (Ātman) is the “breath”, the “breath of life” (Prāṇa) par excellence, and the foundation of other breaths of life. It resides in the body and penetrates it completely.

The framework of yoga is very well defined in the Yoga Sūtra or Yogasūtra. The practitioner needs to learn to observe, to feel without complacence or remonstrance, to search for the state of transparency of self. Being true to oneself.

 

In the chapter Sādhana pāda of the Yoga Sutra, Patañjali describes Ashtanga Yoga. “Here are the eight limbs (aṅga), stages or branches of Royal Yoga (Rāja-Yoga)”.

  1. The prohibitions, yama ( यम ) or yamarāja ( यमराज )
  2. The injunctions, niyama (नियम ), five in number
  3. The physical posture, the āsana ( आसन ) 8 400 000 in number, the most well known: padmāsana
  4. Respiratory discipline, prāṇāyāma ( प्राणायाम ), which strictly prescribes inspiration and expiration in the postural practice and the holding of the breath in the techniques controlling the breath.
  5. The retraction of the senses, pratyāhāra, which leads the wise to
  6. Concentration, dhāraņā ( धारण ) which is pursued through
  7. Meditation, dhyāna ( ध्यान ) which is accomplished through
  8. The achievement and the contemplation of the Spirit, Samādhi.

“The body is like a flesh, the soul (ātman) is its master, intelligence (buddhi) is its driver, the spirit (manas) plays the part of the reins, as to the horses, these are the senses (indriya): the world is their course.”
Kaṭha Upaniṣad or Kaṭhopaniṣad 3.3

What yoga proposes is hence disciplining the human “vehicle” in its various aspects: perceptions and actions with sensuality and corporality, emotions and thoughts with mind and intelligence. Yoga is thus a discipline and a discipline is a space of freedom, it is a framework of freedom.

Only discipline will develop an ever-greater force of endurance, which will permit – once we encounter a difficulty in life (fatigue, illness, doubt, conflict, fear etc) – to continue our path with Peace, Force and Joy.

Pondicherry, a little bit of France in India…

The coast of Coromandel, close to Pondicherry, is ideally suited for a charming stay: beaches of white sand, Hindu temple complexes, small fishing villages, the ancient French counter where the past is still present, a stay in a charming hotel – all this will make your Yoga workshop an unforgettable experience.

 

The town, Pondicherry or Puducherry, is often referred to as Pondy. Pondicherry has a unique architecture, inherited from a mixture of cultures and its French and Tamil colonial past.

Pondicherry has a special ambience and charm, completely different from the rest of India. Formerly a French colony, today it is an Indian territory, 160 km from Chennai (Madras), 100 km from Mahābalipuram, along the Coast of Coromandel, in the Gulf of Bengal. Take a stroll, walking or on a cycle rickshaw, through the charming streets with evocative names, where you can admire the finest examples of colonial architecture.

 

 

Immerse yourself in the old marketplace, at the junction of Nehru Street & Mahatma Gandhi Road, with its surprising fragrances from the fish, fruit, vegetable and flower markets, buy coffee or tea in “The Lakshmi Coffee”, go out for lunch at “Energy Home”, a surprising and absolutely delicious cuisine, 35a, Chety Street. Visit Sri Aurobindo’s ashram in Auroville. Enjoy a French breakfast at “Baker Street”, 123, Bussy Street, or an Indian one in a house with traditional Tamil architecture, the “Maison Perumal”, 44 Perumal Koil Street: dosai, idly, kalapam and uthappam, from 7.30 until 10.00.

 

Pondicherry is 100 km away from Mahābalipuram, 2 hours by bus or 11/2 hours by car.

Visit the Ashram in Pondicherry

When in Pondicherry I warmly recommend you to pay a visit to the ashram of Sri Aurobindo on “Marine Street” in the old French Quarters. It is a beautiful colonial style mansion where the faithful meditate. In 1920 a French woman joined Sri Aurobindo and became his spiritual companion, since then known as “The Mother”. Sri Aurobindo’s teachings are a synthesis of traditional and modern Yoga. The aim of his Yoga practice is to develop inner spiritual life. With this practice the unique Self is revealed, thus developing a supramental spiritual awareness that transforms human life.

 

Sri Aurobindo´s ashram was founded on November 24, 1926. In December of the same year, Sri Aurobindo decided to abandon public life to dedicate himself solely to the action of the Supramental Force, leaving the management of the ashram in the hands of “The Mother” (Mira Alfassa), who continued his work after his death in 1960.

In 1968 “The Mother” refers to the project of a new village in the following terms :

“There shall be on Earth an unalienable place, a place that does not belong to any nation, a place where all beings of good faith, sincere in their aspirations, can live free as citizens of the world…”

 

Auroville, situated ten kilometres north of Pondicherry, the project of an experimental modern and spiritual village, came to life in 1969,

In the ashram you can meditate at the feet of Sri Aurobindo’s and “The Mother” “Samadhi” that is covered with fresh flowers, a peaceful place, accessible every day from 8.00 – 12.00 and 14.00 – 16.00

 

Pondicherry is 100 km away from Mahābalipuram, 2 hours by bus or 11/2 hours by car.

Archives par étiquette : Samadhi

calque-Yogi-ascetes-1820

YOGA, les origines

Le Yoga pour le corps, le cœur et l’âme…

Lorsque les rishi des temps anciens élaborèrent le Yoga, les postures avaient un sens et une autre destination que de résoudre des problèmes de dos ou d’angoisse existentielle.

« Que l’on soit jeune, d’âge mur ou âgé, malade ou faible, on atteint la réalisation que par la pratique, par l’effort soutenu, une attention inlassable de tous les aspect du Yoga »
Haṭhayōgapradīpikā, I,64

La finalité du Yoga n’est pas la recherche de la souplesse posturale, elle concerne la paix du mental, la modification du mental.

« La réalisation vient à celui qui est constamment engagé dans la pratique. Comment viendrait-elle à l’inactif ? Ce n’est pas simplement en lisant les traités sur le yoga que la perfection peut naître »
Haṭhayōgapradīpikā, I,65

La voie du corps (Kaya Sādhanā)

Le mot « āsana », signifie : position, posture, attitude et assise. Pour la statuaire indienne, la position ou attitude posturale agit comme un langage symbolique et émotionnel qui est codifié et connu de tous. Les postures de Yoga représentent donc des figures archétypales. La pratique de ces figures dans le cadre d’une méthode, permet au pratiquant de rétablir des liens avec ses racines les plus profondes.

Shiva, dessin sur papier

Shiva, dessin sur papier

Trouver en soi l’émotion du corps, du cœur et de l’âme, accepter de faire un pas vers l’inconnu pour découvrir un autre équilibre, un autre regard.

 Avec son corps, l’homme écrit ses rêves. En se dépassant, il crée une autre réalité, une nouvelle puissance, une nouvelle souplesse, de nouvelles sensations. Cette réalisation demande de transcender les raideurs et l’inconfort pendant de nombreuses années d’effort.

Comme l’exprime si bien Satprem dans le titre d’un des ses livres « Fils du Ciel par le corps de la Terre », c’est à travers le corps de la terre, le corps de chair, le corps dense (sthūla-śarīra) que nous allons, par la pratique du Yoga, éveiller le corps de lumière, le corps d’énergie (prāṇāyāma-kośa), le corps symbolique (linga śarīra).

 

Valmiki, Ramayana

Valmiki, Ramayana

Comment s’est élaboré le concept du Yoga ?

Ce concept gouverne toutes les spéculations philosophiques de l’Inde, la réincarnation, la métempsycose. La vie actuelle ne montre qu’un stade dans une multitude de vies successives, qui ont pour attribut commun d’être douloureuses et dont il faut absolument s’affranchir.

Transmigration, douleur, délivrance…

Pour la pensée indienne, l’existence de l’âme est un fait. Cette croyance primitive avait déjà cours à la préhistoire. En effet dans les plus anciens textes connus, l’âme individuelle se présente comme le pilier de toutes les fonctions vitales de l’homme. L’âme, (Ātman), c’est le « souffle » le souffle vital (Prāṇa) par excellence, le fondement des autres souffles vitaux. Elle réside dans le corps qu’elle pénètre totalement.

Le cadre du Yoga est très bien défini dans les Yoga Sūtra ou Yogasūtra. Le pratiquant doit apprendre à s’observer, à sentir sans complaisance ni remontrance, chercher l’état de transparence avec lui-même. Être vrai avec lui-même.

Sanskrit Yoga sutra

Sanskrit Yoga sutra

Patañjali décrit dans le chapitre Sādhana pāda des Yoga Sutra, l’Aṣṭāṅga Yoga « Voici les huit « membres » (aṅga), étapes ou branches du Yoga Royal (Rāja-Yoga) ».

  1. Les interdictions, yama ( यम ) ou yamarāja ( यमराज )
  2. Les injonctions, niyama (नियम ) au nombre de cinq
  3. Les attitudes corporelles, les āsana ( आसन ) au nombre de 8 400 000, dont la plus célèbre : padmāsana
  4. La discipline respiratoire, prāṇāyāma ( प्राणायाम ), qui règle strictement l’inspiration et l’expiration dans la pratique posturale et la retenue du souffle dans les techniques de contrôle du souffle.
  5. La rétraction des sens, pratyāhāra qui conduit le sage à
  6. La concentration, dhāraņā ( धारण ) qui se poursuit par
  7. La méditation, dhyāna ( ध्यान ) qui se parachève par
  8. L’achèvement et la contemplation de l’Esprit, Samādhi.

 « Le corps est comme un char,
l’âme (ātman) en est le maître,
l’intelligence (buddhi) en est le cocher,
l’esprit (manas) joue le rôle des rênes,
 quant aux chevaux ce sont les sens (indriya न्द्रिय):
le monde est leur carrière. »
Kaṭha Upaniṣad ou Kaṭhopaniṣad 3.3

Ce que propose le Yoga est donc de discipliner le « véhicule » humain dans ses divers aspects : perceptions et actions à travers la sensorialité et la corporéité, émotions et pensées à travers le mental et l’intelligence. Le Yoga est donc une discipline et une discipline est un espace de liberté, c’est un cadre de liberté.

Seule la discipline va développer une force d’endurance de plus en plus grande, ce qui va permettre le jour où l’on rencontre une difficulté dans la vie (fatigue, maladie, doute, conflit, peur etc.) de continuer notre chemin avec Paix, Force, et Joie.

La Promenade de Pondichery

Pondichéry, un petit peu de France en Inde…

La côte de Coromandel, proche de Pondichéry, est idéale pour un séjour de charme : ses plages de sable blanc, ses petits villages de pêcheurs, ses ensembles de temples hindous, l’ancien comptoir français où flotte encore les effluves du passé, un séjour dans un hôtel de caractère, rendront votre stage de Yoga inoubliable.

Pondichéry ou Puducherry, la ville est souvent appelée Pondy. Pondichéry possède une architecture unique, héritée du mélange des cultures et de son passé colonial français et Tamoul.

Pondichéry a une ambiance et un charme uniques, tout-à-fait différents du reste de l’Inde. Ex-colonie française, elle est aujourd’hui une union territoriale d’Inde qui se trouve à 160km de Chennai (Madras), 100km de Mahābalipuram le long de la côte de Coromandel dans le golfe du Bengale. Promenez-vous en cyclo-pousse ou à pied à travers de charmantes rues aux noms évocateurs, où l’on admire de très beaux exemples d’architecture coloniale.

Perdez-vous dans son « vieux marché », situé à l’angle de Nehru Street & Mahatma Gandhi Road. Sentez les odeurs surprenantes du marché aux poissons, des fruits & légumes, des fleurs ; achetez du café ou du thé au « The Lakshmi Coffee » ; allez manger à « Energy Home », une cuisine surprenante et absolument délicieuse, 35a, Chetty street. Visitez l’Ashram de Sri Aurobindo et bien sûr Auroville. Prenez un petit déjeuner à la française chez « Baker Street » 123, Bussy Street, ou à l’indienne dans une maison à l’architecture tamoule traditionnelle chez « Maison Perumal », 44 Perumal Koil Street : dosai, idly, kalapam et uthappam, de 7h30 à 10h.

Pondichéry se trouve à 100 km de Mahābalipuram, soit 2h de bus ou 1h1/2 de voiture.

Ind040001

Visiter l’Ashram de Pondichéry

A Pondichéry, je vous conseille de visiter l’ashram de Sri Aurobindo situé « Marine Street » dans les anciens quartiers français. Il s’agit d’une belle demeure coloniale où les fidèles se consacrent à la méditation. C’est en 1920 qu’une Française rejoignit Sri Aurobindo et devint sa compagne spirituelle. Elle est connue sous le nom de « La Mère ». L’enseignement de Sri Aurobindo est une synthèse des différents Yoga(s) traditionnels et modernes. Le but de son yoga est le développement de la vie spirituelle intérieure. Grâce à cette pratique, on découvre le Moi unique et on élabore une conscience spirituelle supramentale qui transforme la nature humaine.

 

L’ashram de Sri Aurobindo a été fondé le 24 novembre 1926. En décembre de la même année Sri Aurobindo décide de se retirer de la vie publique pour se consacrer uniquement à l’action de la Force Supramentale, et il laisse « La Mère » (Mira Alfassa) à la direction de l’ashram. A sa mort en 1950, « La Mère » poursuit son œuvre.

En 1968, « La Mère » parle d’un projet d’une ville nouvelle en ces termes :

« Il doit exister sur Terre un endroit inaliénable, un endroit qui n’appartiendrait à aucune nation, un lieu où tous les êtres de bonne volonté, sincères dans leurs aspirations, pourraient vivre librement comme citoyens du monde… »

 

En 1969, Auroville le projet d’une ville expérimentale moderne et spirituelle, située à une dizaine de kilomètres au nord de Pondichéry voit le jour.

A l’ashram vous pourrez vous recueillir aux pieds du « Samadhi » de Sri Aurobindo et de Mère, recouvert de fleurs fraîches, un lieu de paix. Tous les jours de 8h à 12h et de 14h à 16h.

Pondichéry se trouve à 100 km de Mahābalipuram, soit 2h de bus ou 1h1/2 de voiture.